Skip to Content

12th Annual Deadly Awards

Media Release: August 14, 2005 in Arts, Indigenous |

12th Annual Deadly AwardsIt’s that time again… time to put your hand up and vote for your favourite Indigenous Australian for this year’s Deadly Awards — The National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Music, Sport, Entertainment and Community Awards.

The Deadlys is an annual event which recognises the diverse achievements of Indigenous people across Australia.

Voting is easy — just pick up the latest issue of Deadly Vibe magazine or go to, and check out the list of nominees. Voting closes September 15, 2006. There are more than 20 award categories, covering Indigenous music, sport, entertainment and community achievement. Winners will be announced at a gala ceremony at the Sydney Opera House Concert Hall on Thursday, September 21.

The Deadlys will once again be hosted by The Great Outdoors’ Ernie Dingo, with special performances by Bobby McLeod and Cindy Drummond, all capped off with a spectacular finale featuring some of Indigenous Australia’s hottest young performers.

A host of Indigenous stars will also be strolling down the red carpet, including boxing champion Anthony Mundine, actors Aaron Pedersen, Luke Carroll, Leah Purcell, Ursula Yovich and Aaron Fa’aoso, legendary musician Jimmy Little, TV chef Mark Olive and the hilarious Mary G. The Deadlys Awards ceremony will be screened on SBS TV on Wednesday, September 27 at 10pm.

We are so excited about this year’s show, says the event’s executive producer, Gavin Jones. Every year it just gets bigger and bigger, and this year our audience will just be blown away.

The calibre of this year’s nominees is also extremely high, so it will be a close race to the finish — every single vote is really going to count this year!

Tickets are now on sale for the Deadlys 2006. To book, call the Sydney Opera House Box Office on (02) 9250 7777 or visit or Tickets are $40 or $25 for concession or groups of 10.

The Deadlys would not be possible without the support of the following organisations:

  • Major Sponsors: Sydney Opera House, The Office of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health through the Department of Health and Ageing, The Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination, the Australian Public Service Commission, The Department of Education, Science and Training, GJC Vibe and SBS TV
  • Sponsors: APRA, PPCA, Department of Aboriginal Affairs, Reconciliation Australia, Macquarie Bank
  • Supporters: Koori Mail, Signwave, Boomalli Aboriginal Artist Cooperative, Triple J, Koori Radio, Morrissey, Deadly Sounds and Renee Coppin International